Began at Blisspop on: August 31 2009

Number of posts: 15

Has written a lot about:

Wave Age – Currents #1

Posted on November 24 2014 by Blisspop

We’ve got the perfect way to start your week off. DC’s Wave Age just debuted his new mix series Currents, packing in an hour’s worth of house ranging from soulful and groovy to deep and dirty. It features some of our favorite up and comers and is guaranteed to help ease the work day. Check it out:

1. Laughing Man – Theater of Revolt
2. Mountal – Gold Digger
3. Kruse & Nuernberg -We Find Deep (feat. Isis Salam) (Mat.Joe Remix)
4. Kevin McKay – Everything’s A Dream
5. Franky Rizardo – A New Recreation
6. Deep City Groove – What Say What
7. Human Movement – Shake
8. Les Profesionales – Pure Love (Endless Love) (Eric Sharp Remix)
9. TIEKS – Sing That Song (feat. Celeste) (Tommy Forrest 5am Remix)
10. Dark Science x Tiga – Rusty Bugatti (Wave Age Blend)
11. O.C. & Verde – Fugazi ( Hauswerks Remix)
12. Chambray – Parklife
13. Jaymo & Andy George – In My Way
14. The Big Crunch Theory – Distortion (DJ Koze Remix)

14 Years of Bliss + Will Eastman’s 4 a.m. Eternal Mix Vol. 5

Posted on September 18 2014 by Blisspop

This is a very big week for Bliss. Our little blog and it’s consistently epic partner party, Bliss, are turning 14. To celebrate, head honcho, Will Eastman, is playing a 6 hour set this Saturday at U Street Music Hall. Come out and dance and make new Bliss memories while sharing your favorite old ones. Eastman also debuted the 5th installment of his 4 a.m. Eternal series on DC’s Washington City Paper in support of the event, and you can stream it below. It features some of our favorite house, deep house, indie dance, and techno tracks of the last few months wrapped up in the mystery and enjoyment that only the end of the night can have. All ticket proceeds will also be going to the Alternating Hemiplegia of Childhood Foundation, which raises funds to research AHC, a debilitating genetic neurological disorder.

Take a listen below and join us this Saturday in celebrating 14 years of Bliss

Saytek – The Place
Chet Faker – I’m Into You (Monkeyneck Remix)
Superpitcher – Delta
Danny Daze – Freeze
Jackson Ryland – Crystal City
Hunzed, Harvey – Sheeta (Mendo Remix)
krankbrother – Thank You Baby
Caribou – Our Love
Walker & Royce – Sister
Route 94 – Misunderstood
Benjamin Damage – Up

Blisspop Presents TOGETHER

Posted on August 15 2014 by Blisspop
TogetherParty copy(1)

Blisspop is starting up a new concert series, and the inaugural get down is happening tomorrow at DC’s The Velvet Lounge. If you’re not familiar, you should be as it’s one of our favorite bars in the city with a hugely positive vibe and great drink prices. We’re starting with 4 of our residents, and the night is a guaranteed good time. Will Eastman, Caleb L’Etoile, Baronhawk, and Ozker will be serving up some of the hottest house and indie dance in DC and there’s no cover. BE THERE

Blisspop Mix Series #05: Caleb L’Etoile

Posted on May 16 2014 by Blisspop

The fifth installment in the Blisspop Mix Series comes at us by way of Blisspop resident and DC-based DJ/producer Caleb L’Etoile. The mix is an hour’s worth of house tracks from some of our favorite up and coming producers (and old favorites). It’s a nice representation of where L’Etoile’s style has been heading and also a great way to start your weekend! Check it out!

1. Max Graef – Pedro
2. Coeo – The Look
3. Leon Vynehall – It’s Just (House of Dupree)
4. Subb-an – What Do I Do (Burnski Tulum Remix)
5. Shur-I-Kan – Jazz Club
6. Maddslinky – Special (Atjazz Remix)
7. TCTS – These Heights (Detroit Swindle Mile High Club Mix)
8. Tommy Vercetti – Good Feeling
9. Ejeca – What You Think
10. Terrence Parker – Finally (Planet-E Mix)
11. Doorly – Can’t Stop This Feeling (feat. Rae)
12. Tommy Rawson – Don’t Lose It
13. Andre Laos – Yield

MAUSI – Move

Posted on January 15 2013 by Blisspop

MAUSI, a UK electro pop group that released the addicting “Sol” in 2011, is back with their newly released song “Move.”

“Move” sounds like beach parties and strobe lights, and late nights running through the streets. Which, incidentally, MAUSI captured pretty perfectly in the video they put together to preview the release.

MAUSI has mastered the familiar push and pull that’s the hallmark of so many pop productions these days, but there’s a thicker layer of texture here that’s usually missing from the shiny, hollow, chart toppers. In the same way that M83 “Midnight City” and Passion Pit “Take a Walk” manage to be totally accessible, addicting, pop songs while keeping the life in them, “Move” follows suit.

The song comes in like a series of waves, with each swell climaxing into the infectious synth line and chorus, and rolling back out into serene breakdown. The best section of “Move” begins with the breakdown at 2:18 – a chorus singing the song’s all-present “Ay Yai Yai’s” with their female vocalist doing runs up on top. The chorus and backing-band build into their peak, drop out suddenly, and a singular female voice commands “Move.” Enter synth. Enter heaven.

Go like MAUSI on Facebook.

Resident Advisor Event List